Book Traveling Thursdays: A 500+ Pager

booktravelingthursdays5

Book Traveling Thursday was created by Cátia at The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog, and you can learn more about it right here. This week’s theme is a book that’s over five-hundred pages. I went with Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. Not all versions of this book are over the 500-page marker, but the version I own certainly is. So without further ado, let’s get started.

ORIGINAL COVER:

Jane_Eyre_title_page

This closest I could come to finding the original cover is this – the original title page. It has Brontë’s pseudonym, Currer Bell, and it’s from 1847, the original publication year. This particular copy is in the University of Leeds Library, which I would love to see someday!


Covers from USA:

91rodiD3EeL._SL1500_                        je-vintage

Where to begin? There are many, many, many, many different covers pf Jane Eyre, plenty of which have been published in the United States. The cover on the left is from the edition I own (purchased at Borders, many moons ago). The one on the right is the Vintage Classics edition, which I like a lot. Jane is really rocking the messy bun. Pinterest would be proud.


FAVORITE COVERS:

9780143106159    9780141198859

10598750    10586873

The Penguin Deluxe Edition on the upper left has a beautiful illustrated cover. I think it captured the Gothic feel of the book really nicely. The second one is the Australian Penguin edition, and I really like the leaf print. It’s simple and classic-looking. I like the watercolor look of the bottom left, published by Splinter Press, especially because purple is my favorite color. If I was going to buy another edition, it might be that one. The last one is published by Michael O’Mara, and I like the contrast between the bright blue berries and the dark grey background.


LEAST FAVORITE COVERS:

bronte-cover      41NFME2ASTL

I really don’t like the color combination they used for the Penguin Drop Caps edition (left). It hurts my eyes to look at. I see the symbolism of the red (maybe the Red Room Jane gets locked in as a child). as well as the flames (the fire that burns down Rochester’s estate) but I still find it a pretty unpleasant cover to look at. Additionally, I think the Barns and Noble Classics Edition is nothing to write home about. It’s a bland and dated looking cover, and the pink background seems an odd choice for a dark novel.


So those are my Jane Eyre travelling covers! Which one is your favorite? Let me know which book you tackled this week.

7 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: A 500+ Pager

Leave a Reply

