TOP TEN TUESDAY: Special Wednesday Edition

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Series I Have Yet to Finish

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

GUYS I MISSED TOP TEN TUESDAY. The holiday weekend really messed with my sense of time/date/life/etc. But better late than never I guess. Happy Top Ten Tuesday Wednesday!

This week’s topic was easy for me: ten book series I have yet to finish. Actually it was kind of alarming how easy it was.Like, I probably should have just made a TTT of series I HAVE finished.
Apparently I have a serious issue with not finishing series of books. I can’t really explain why, except that there’s so many different books and authors to experience that I forget to circle back and finish series. Here is my Top Ten:

1359025140_8206_Delirium

The Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver
I’ve seen this in a lot of people’s TTTs. I read the first two books (technically, listened via Audible), but I heard so many bad things about the third book that I wasn’t eager to read it. And from what I remember it had a love triangle situation brewing, and I am SO SICK OF LOVE TRIANGLES.

Percy-Jackson-and-the-Olympians-series

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan 
So I’m stuck on the third book here, The Titan’s Curse. I actually own the third one, too, and I have a really dumb reason for not finishing it. I bought it on my Kobo (another e-reader, before I upgraded to the Kindle), and for some reason the title was prints as “Titan’s Curse The”, at the top of every page. I know it’s such a silly error — and probably easy to fix — but it bothered me so much that I ended up putting the book down and haven’t gone back to it. Maybe some day!

Divergent-Series

The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth
I read the first one, and I think that was enough for me. I wasn’t invested enough (or at all) in the characters or plot to warrant going out and buying the next one (especially since it was still in hardback).

dashner-maze-runner-series

The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner
This was the one and only selection in a very short-lived book club my friends and I decided to start last summer, and I thought it was only okay. I had just graduated college and had time to read again, and there were just so many more books that I wanted to read more.

Untitled-1

 
The Diviners Series by Libba Bray
I realized I never posted my review of The Diviners, so that will be up tomorrow morning, but I ended up just really disliking the main character, Evie. She was really shallow and superficial and never grew at all as a character. I had no interest in reading more about her, so I’m not planning on reading the next ones. (P.S. I just realized this is supposed to be completed series only, but I already found a picture for this one so it’s staying)

gemma-doyle

 
The Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray
Double dose of Libba Bray on this list, though I do really like her! I read A Great and Terrible Beauty and Revel Angels both at leas six or seven years ago. I was planning on getting the third one, but pretty much every review found it devastatingly disappointing, and I didn’t want to ruin my happy memories of the first two with a terrible ending. It’s also eight hundred pages?!?

HisDarkMaterialsUS

 
His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman
Another example of “I heard the next one sucks” syndrome. I read and enjoyed The Golden Compass in January, but I was already on the fence about finishing the trilogy when I heard that it was a huge disappointment. After seeing enough “can we pretend it’s a standalone?” reviews, I figured I would do just that and move onto another series.

millennium-trilogy-covers

The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larson
I read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo when it was all the rage, but it didn’t interest me enough to want to finish the series. I’m sure they’re just fine, but I’m very picky with mysteries, and these didn’t do it for me.

dt.common.streams.StreamServer

 
The Alice Series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
Haven’t I spent enough time on my blog gushing about the Alice series? (Yes.) I thought I read all of these as a kid, but as I go through the series again, I’m starting to realize that I missed at least three or four in the middle. But I’m definitely catching them all this time around.

A Series of Unfortunate Events. Complete set of 13 volumes + Promotional Items [SIGNED BY HELQUIST AND INSCRIBED BY SNICKET] by Snicket, Lemony (Author); Brett Helquist (Illustrator)

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket
I think I read the first eight of these before finally losing interest. I aged out of them, for one thing, and I also got exhausted with the redundancy. Still a solid series, and one that fostered my transition from chapter books to middle readers. They look so pretty up there all lined up, don’t they?

So those are my Top Ten this week! I would love to hear which ones we have in common, and which ones you think I really should go back and finish.

9 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Special Wednesday Edition

  1. don not finish delirium. I repeat. Do NOT finish delirium. The last book is utter crap and the only reason I finished it is because I absolutely love Hanna…but even if you do…do not read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

