Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

This tag has really been making the rounds lately! I love reading through them, and I decided it was time I go ahead and give it try myself.


             Mazerunner               Code_Name_Verity_-_Electric_Monkey_cover

A popular book or series you didn’t like

I have an “overhyped” shelf on Goodreads for this very reason! The Maze Runner did nothing for me. I thought it was a real slog to get through, and it wasn’t even that long. Very little character development, too much weird language, and boring up until the last fifty pages. It didn’t motivate me to read the rest of the series whatsoever.

This might be an even more unpopular opinion but I also DNFed Code Name Verity, which seems to be universally beloved by everyone else. I’m a big believer in not forcing yourself to finish a book you’re not enjoying — you only have so much time to read in your life. I might have enjoyed this book more if I had any particular interest in piloting, airplanes, engineering or mechanics. But unfortunately, I don’t. Most of this book just felt long-winded and unnecessary.

TCVPB
A popular book/series that everyone seems to hate but you love
The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. This book got so much criticism when it first came out because people wanted another Harry Potter, and that’s not what this is. On the surface, it’s a book about the smallest of elections, and its effect on the town. But it’s also about race and class and family and grief, dysfunctional relationships and love and hate. Yes, it is slow at time, and there are many, many characters, but I truly believe it is worth the investment of time!


Harry-y-hermione-harry-and-hermione-17302667-500-375

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did not want them to end up with
Not a love triangle, but Harry Potter. I am an undying Harry/Hermione shipper. Hermione is such a great character, and she deserved someone better than Ron, who was the kind of person to bow out whenever the going gets tough. I thought Harry and Hermione had better chemistry and more compatible personalities. JK Rowling thinks so too.

teen-paranormal-romance
A popular book genre you hardly reach for

Paranormal romance — anything with vampires, demons, zombies, ghosts falling in love with mortals. Maybe Twilight just turned me off from the whole genre, but I have yet to see this done well. I’m interested in Cinder, which I think is based on this premise.

Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover
A popular or beloved character that you didn’t like

I have a “frustrating protagonist” shelf on Goodreads for this! Might make some enemies with this one — Aristotle from Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. I found him to be a frustrating and unrealistic character who brooded just a little bit too much for my taste. I liked Dante a lot more, but Aristotle kind of ruined this book for me.

the-book-thief-markus-zusak      i-am-the-messenger
A popular author that you can’t seem to get into
Markus Zusak fits here. I own both The Book Thief and I Am the Messenger and I have not been able to get through either. I’ve started The Book Thief at least three or four times, and have never made it past the first fifty pages without getting bored or distracted by another book. The Book Thief is the oldest book on my TBR list currently, and it’s absolutely on my Book Bucket List. But so far I haven’t been able to get into him.

child-book
A popular book trope that you are tired of seeing:

I think love triangles are lazy writing, but everyone seems to agree on that, so I guess that doesn’t really count as an Unpopular Opinion anymore, does it?
One thing that really grates of me is the Adorably Precocious Child – young children who are wise beyond their years and don’t act like kids at all. They often end up teaching adults the important life lessons of the story. I don’t like them because I think they’re a cheap way to get an emotional reaction from readers, and they just aren’t realistic. I most recently encountered this in The One Thing, which I actually really liked, but it’s also Lyra in The Golden Compass, Harriet in Harriet the Spy, Oskar in Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. Here is an interesting article on this trope in The Guardian!

shiver
mortalinstrumentspiclillie

A popular series that you have no interest in reading
There’s plenty of these! Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver series, because, like I said, paranormal romance isn’t my thing. The Cassandra Clare Mortal Instruments series don’t hold any interest for me, either.

Princess-Diaries-GIFs
The saying says “The book is always better than the movie“, but what movie/ tv show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Percy Jackson! JUST KIDDING! We just pretend that movie didn’t exist right?
The Princess Diaries — not because the books were bad, but because the movie was so good. It was set in my hometown of San Francisco, which is part of the reason I loved it, but Julie Andrews + Hector Elizondo is hard to beat. All the glitz and glamour works better as a film, in my opinion. And we can just pretend the sequel didn’t happen, too.

9 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I am a diehard Harry and Hermione shipper as well even in the first book. I always thought they had potential, but then JK Rowling decides to make them end up with other people. I shipped them even harder when the films came out because I thought Daniel and Emma had such great chemistry!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. THE PRINCESS DIARIES. YES. I know just about every line in that movie. I’ll admit it. I’m 22 and still love it. I actually wasn’t a huge fan of the books when I read them, they were pretty much 100% different though so I just pretend they’re separate entities

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love The Princess Diaries! I’m also 22 and still watch it with my sisters sometimes. I tried reading the first book when I was about 12 or 13 but couldn’t get into it.

    The Casual Vacancy is only a marmite book because a lot of the people who read it were expecting Harry Potter again even if they said that they weren’t. I think another issue is that it’s a slow burner which I personally love and it’s obviously very political which some readers might find boring.

    I’m sad that you didn’t like The Book Thief. I didn’t fall in love with it the same way some other people did but I still thought that it was a beautiful story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

