Book Traveling Thurday #3: Favorite Literary Couple

booktravelingthursdays5

It’s been a hectic week! I’ve been at a very cool but very exhausting tech conference for work, but I managed to make enough time to get my list up for Book Traveling Thursday. 

Book Traveling Thursday was created by Cátia at The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog. This week’s prompt is a book your OTP is in, and I’m not much for shipping when I read books. But one couple I was really rooting for was Anne Elliott and Frederick Wentworth in Jane Austen’s Persuasion. I know Persuasion tends to be a less popular Austen novel, but its actually the only one I’ve ever read, and I really liked it. I thought Anne was a lovely and relatable character, and I swooned for Captain Wentworth, hard. One of my favorites passages:

I can listen no longer in silence. I must speak to you by such means as are within my reach. You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever. I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own than when you almost broke it, eight years and a half ago. Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you.

Here are my cover choices for this excellent novel!


ORIGINAL COVER:

NorthangerPersuasionTitlePage

Like Jane Eyre last week, I can only find the original title page, courtesy of Indiana University via Wikipedia. Persuasion was published in 1818, a year after Austen died. As you can see, it was originally bound with Northanger Abbey. Persuasion was the last book Austen wrote before she died.


MY COVER:

9780143106289

This is the cover I read. It’s relatively new, and published by Penguin Classics and illustrated by Audrey Niffenegger (who wrote The Time Traveller’s Wife, coincidently). I don’t know, the Penguin Deluxe Editions are kind of hit-or-miss for me. I don’t like this one very much. I guess the vine-like thing is supposed to represent how Anne feels constrained by society’s ideals? I don’t like it, personally. Also her feet look very weird.


Favorite Covers:

314_9789875669963.jpg    tumblr_mzy989rbXQ1qa19yno3_1280

Loving this Spanish-language edition published by, I think, a Mexican publisher. Her dress looks amazing, and I like the profile shot. It doesn’t have much to do with the book, but I love it all the same. But the one on the right might be my all-time favorite, the Jane Austen Pocket Penguin Classics, cover. I love the watercolor look, and the bright red of her coat on the cream background. It doesn’t seem to be available on the Penguin website, but I might need to track it down!


Least Favorite Covers:

u34+1F!EVWH7ngw7NLVXIcKIKW2pmYA+Gl!w8rbMsYEtKUWFdnW30MCanFZgW+4GMRZ!0E5dFFzPFFvj8MPeAFjyGM+mB65M9iSYJGxO3RSWsW1OYzkgsRAdZgmVYczu    41L13c5vHHL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I would love to have a strongly-worded conversation with whatever marketing guy at HarperTeen thought that slapping Twilight covers on English classics was gonna help sales (L). They even did Shakespeare too. To me, this cover is a tacky and very obvious attempt to make classics look young and hip, and that’s not what they’re about. Similarly offensive is the picture on the right, published by Tribeca Books. Cheesy photo, weird angle — I feel like people would expect this to be a beach-read romance from the cover, and be pretty disappointed by an English slow-burn classic romance.


So that’s my Traveling Thursday for you! Which cover is your favorite? Let me know and link me to your own list!

12 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thurday #3: Favorite Literary Couple

  1. My Persuasion is the Penguin Pocket Classics (trying to make you jealous). But in all honesty, I really like the Penguin Deluxe Classics cover too..

    I have a personal story about Persuasion. When I was in high school, a big bookstore opened near Jakarta. My father was lucky enough to be invited to the opening and I was even luckier to be his plus one. So the guests had a whole bookstore to themselves before it was opened to the general public.

    Somehow I entered into a chat with a sweet expat lady near the Austen shelf. She pointed to Persuasion and said “This, this is my desperate book.” What’s a desperate book you ask? It’s the book you turn to when everything turns to shit and you desperately need some comfort. How could I not purchase Persuasion after such a review?

    Persuasion is definitely a “desperate book.” Is there a novel more hopeful? And Capt. Wentworth’s letter — swoon!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wow what an amazing story!! That’s such a cool experience. I definitely can see Persuasion being a desperate book. It’s so hopeful and optimistic. What’s your desperate book??

      Like

      • My desperate book(s) are a tie between Pride and Prejudice and A Little Princess. The former because it never fails to make me laugh and the latter because Sara Crewe is the fictional character I feel the deepest connection to. Seeing Sara get her happy ending always makes me feel hopeful for myself.

        Do you have a desperate book?

        Like

Leave a Reply

