The Emoji Book Tag

Thank you to Deanna at A Novel Glimpse for tagging me in this one! I am an avid emoji user (you could maybe say over-user), so this one is especially perfect for me. The point of the tag is to take your five most-used or recently used emojis and come up with books that fit the emoji emotion. Or something. We’ll see.


EMOJI IN LOVE:

This is my love-emojimost-used Emoji for sure. Usually in reference to conversations about food with my friends. In this tag, I’m taking it to mean a book that makes me feel really happy. There’s a lot of great books I HarryPotterJimKaycan go with for that, but my ultimate comfort read is definitely Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. It’s definitely the least-dark of the stories and I think it has some of the best humor in it, as well. Plus it’s where the magic all began! This is not the edition I have, but I just found it and I love the illustration!


The ‘oh shit’ Emoji:

flat,1000x1000,075,fA lot of emojis are left open to interpretation (like all great art) but this one is my all-purpose “oh shit” emoji. Like, ‘the thing I want is really expensive’, or gone-girl-book-cover-med ‘I’m twenty minutes late for work’, or ‘I just ate that whole box of macaroni and cheese even though it says it was 2.5 servings’. Like I said, it gets a lot of use. But for this, I’ll take it to mean a book with a twist I definitely didn’t see coming. An easy choice for that one is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, which had enough twists and turns to keep my guessing throughout. I didn’t end up loving this book as much as a lot of other people did, but it certainly left me with my mouth hanging open as I read it on the beach.


turd emoji:

poop-1024x1024Is there any emoji more multi-purpose than the pile of turd? This is my go-to emoji for all things that are bad. Oddly enough, it’s still kept under the ‘people’ section in the little Emoji section of my phone, which is odd. Anyway, I’m interpreting the poop emoji here to mean any book that ended up being really disappointing for whatever reas1406_SBR_MeganAbbottCOVER.jpg.CROP.original-originalon. There’s a lot to choose from here, too, because when you read as much as us in the book blogosphere do, you’re bound to find a few smelly turds. One book that really surprised me by being so bad was The Fever by Megan Abbott. I just realized I never posted my review for that one, but its on Goodreads here, and in that review I called it ‘offensively boring’, which was pretty blunt, but very true. Nothing good about any of the characters, the plot, the ending — it was all really disappointing from an author I had really enjoyed previously. Definitely a stinker (no more poop jokes, I promise).


The UGLY CRY EMOJI:

e9cb0399513d3075c98bd8650eee8b30I have a lot of feelings, so this emoji gets a lot of use! It’s almost always related to my job and working (go figure). I’m taking it to mean a book that made me ugly cry. I’m not a huge crier when it comes to books (TV shows and movies and commercials and songs are bookcover_home_before_i_fallanother story), but one book that really caught me off guard was Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. I did not expect that book to make me as emotional as it did. I was actually listening to the audiobook and driving when I finished, and I had to pull over and get myself together. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it — I liked it a lot more than Oliver’s Delirium trilogy, or Panic. Check it out!


The ‘Preach It’ Emoji:

Screen-Shot-2014-09-11-at-10.01.24-PM-300x225cI’m not 100% sure what message this Emoji is going for, but I use it as an ‘amen and hallelujah’ emoji when someone says something I really agree with. Again, usually about food or shopping. As a book emoji (bookmoji?) it can be 9781101911761a book with a message I strongly agree with. I was a Poli Sci major, and I’m a very political person, so I’m drawn to a lot of politicized writing. One book that’s message I really resonated with was We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. It’s a short (64 pages) essay on feminism from the perspective of a great writer. The essay is adapted from Adichie’s TED talk of the same name, and it is absolutely worth the watch. I really recommend it!


So those are my top Emojis! I think the lesson of the story is that the Emoji gods need to give the people what they’re asking for — burritos and middle finger emojis.

I’m gonna tag people, which I’ve never done before, so bear with me if I do it wrong — still new to this:

Anette @ Anette Reads

A Reader of Literature 

Sumaya @ Sue’s Reading Corner

Jordyn @ J. Bookish

Aimee @ My Life in Books

Of course, don’t do it if you don’t want to, or feel free to do it if I didn’t tag you!

14 thoughts on “The Emoji Book Tag

  1. Thank you so much for tagging me! I’ll get this done after I’ve done a couple other tags I still haven’t done yet, whoops. I’d agree with you on the “oh shit” emoji if I hadn’t already figured out the twist because I’d seen some gifs on tumblr of her cutting her hair (goddamn it) but I did get an oh shit feeling at the end of the book O_O

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

