Top Ten Tuesday #6: Books Collecting Dust on my Shelves

toptentuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Hello and welcome to my sixth semi-weeklyish Top Ten Tuesday! Brought to you on a Wednesday because I was so busy yesterday.

The prompt this week is a harder one – ten bookish things I want to quit. So kind of like our reader/reviewer bad habits. I’m sort of doing a spin-off, and focusing on my biggest bad book habit — buying new books and then not reading them. Probably about 33% of my bookshelf are books I’ve never actually read, which is kind of sad. But at least they’re all sitting in meticulously color-coded shelves in my bedroom! So this week I’m naming the top ten books I own and have never read.


The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This book has been on my bookshelves for like six years. I picked it up at the airport in Hawaii and was like, “wow I’m totally gonna read this on the plane!” Then I slept the whole time and didn’t read it, and I threw it onto the bookshelf when I got home. And there it has remained ever since.


The Astronaut Wives Club by Lily Koppel

Have you ever bought a book and then found out later it has horrible reviews? That’s what happened to me and this book. I was all excited to read it and then made the mistake of looking at the Goodreads page and seeing mostly negative reviews. I know that shouldn’t stop me, but it totally psyched me out and made me feel like I was gonna hate it.


Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I KNOW, OKAY? I bought this book in eighth grade and pretentiously pretended to read it during free-read time in my English class. But I never read it. I actually read my first Jane Austen this year, Persuasion, and really liked it. But this one is quite literally gathering an asthma-attack worth of dust on the bottom shelf (where I shame all my books with unsightly spines) of my bookcase. I might actually own two copies of this, both sitting in uncracked abandonment. Full disclosure: I also own Sense and Sensibility and Emma, both of which also remain unread.


Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

I bought the Penguin cloth-bound edition of this at a second-hand bookstore because it was so irresistibly pretty, and then proceeded to ignore it. I liked Jane Eyre a lot more than I expected when I read it earlier this year, but I wanted to space out the two sisters. Hopefully I will tackle this next year.


The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

This one was gifted to me, so I don’t feel quite as bad about not reading it (or maybe I should feel worse?). I’ve heard very mixed reviews on it, but I didn’t get the impression that it was really anything special. I think I’ll read it eventually, hopefully before the inevitable movie adaptation.


Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Bought this one when I graduated college and became very concerned with the concept of “finding myself”. Then I realized the text was really small and I don’t even like hiking. So it hasn’t gotten read.


Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

This is one of my mom’s favorite books of all time, but I remember finding it really dated whenever I tried to read it. Plus it got totally spoiled by that one Friends episode.


Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

This is one of the books that everyone tells me I just HAVE TO READ. I actually read my first Neil Gaiman book earlier this year (I know, I’m behind), and liked it a lot more than I thought I would! But this one honestly seemed a little too ‘wacky’ every time I picked it up, so maybe I just haven’t been in the read head-space for it.


I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

This book is sitting right next to The Book Thief on my shelf. Haven’t read either of them. So I’m a big Zusak buyer, just not a big Zusak reader. The Book Thief has been the longest-sitting book on my TBR, and its on my Autumn TBR this year, but maybe I’ll tackle this one sometime next year (maybe).


Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

This book has just been sitting there, intimidating me. There’s actual three identical copies of this book scattered around my house, none of which have ever been read by anyone. It’s just so intimidatingly long that every time I pick it up I’m like, “…or I could just read Harry Potter again.”


So that’s my TTT this week: ten books gathering dust on my bookshelves. I need to make a rule that I won’t buy any new books until I’ve cleaned out my shelves, but we both know that’ll never hold up. It’s just so much fun to buy new books! What books have been sitting on your TBR the longest?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #6: Books Collecting Dust on my Shelves

  1. YOU MUST READ THE NIGHT CIRCUS!!! The Night Circus is a great book and I absolutely loved everything about it. It’s like the type of book you read when you miss Harry Potter and Magic. 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky and don’t have any plans to read crime and punishment though it’s probably is more well known novel. I’m hoping Anna Karenina will be second and last Russian novel I read haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve had The Night Circus on my TBR for a while now, haven’t bought it yet. Seeing it here has made my addiction kick in and now I remember I need to get it. 😄 Bought a big book with all of Jane Austen’s works and have been slowly reading Pride & Prejudice, it’s not bad, maybe need to just focus on finishing it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

