Book Tag: The Pastry Book Tag

Remember me? I have been on a bit of a forced hiatus recently, because of life, work, etc. Things have been so stressful lately that I’ve barely had time to shower, let alone write. It’s too bad, because writing these posts is something I find really relaxing, but hopefully things will calm down in the next few weeks and I can get back in action.

Anyway, the wonderful Calliope the Book Goddess tagged me in The Pastry Book Tag, which combines two of my primary interests: books and baked goods. Let’s get hungry!


Croissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) love.

Harry Potter. I don’t think this required any elaboration!



Macaron: Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end.

janeeyre

Definitely Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë! I had tried and failed to get through this book so many times, but this year I finally made it, and I ended up really loving it. I tend to give up on books if I’m not liking them 100 pages in, but this book definitely reminded me that some stories are worth sticking it out for.


Vol-au-vent: Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.

I had high hopes for Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham, but I found it very underwhelming. I wrote a lot about why I found it disappointing in my review, but I essentially thought that it needed to be better edited. I think they just wanted to release it fast to capitalize on her success, but honestly I shouldn’t feel like 265-page book is dragging on. I did when I read this.


Pain au chocolat: Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

Everything

I think Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon fits this category. The big plot twist really took this book in a different direction, which I found really interesting. As I mentioned in my review, I just wish the twist had come earlier in the book, because I think there was a lot left unexplored in the aftermath.



Profiterole: Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

theonething

The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis! I am really surprised that this book hasn’t gotten more press, both because it was published by Disney Hyperion and because it’s surprisingly really good. I read an ARC of it, but its now officially out and I highly recommend it! Here’s a brief synopsis from my review:

Maggie Sanders lost her sight to bacterial meningitis six months ago. Since then she was become sullen, angry and withdrawn from her friends and family. She only gets drawn out of her shell when she meets a young boy, Ben Miltion. Ben is sweet and precocious, but when draws Maggie to him more than anything is that she can see him. He is the only spot of light in her universe of darkness, and Maggie becomes increasingly attached to him and his family, but also increasingly concerned about why she can see Ben, and only Ben.


CROQUEMBOUCHE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT’S EXTREMELY COMPLEX.

The first thing that popped into my head was A Song of Ice and Fire, though I haven’t actually read those. But I love the show! Anyway, I’ll stick with one that I actually have read and go with The Sound and the Fury. I forgot to read it until I just found it on a list of 25 Most Challenging Books by BuzzFeed. I had to read it in high school. It has steam-of-consciousness narration. One narrator is mentally disabled and can’t keep track of time so he goes back and forth from the past to present in a single sentence. An excerpt:


Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

The Bling Ring by Nancy Jo Sales. I thought the movie was really good, as was the Vanity Fair article that the book was based on, but the book itself didn’t do much for me. It was kind of dry and felt like a lot of filler. Go see the movie though!


Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

bookcover_home_before_i_fall

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver definitely surprised me. It was much sadder than I expected it to be, but also very sweet and touching. Premise:

Samantha Kingston dies in a car accident on February 12th, and instead of going on to heaven/hell/whatever comes next, she keeps reliving the same day over and over, through the course of one very weird week. Each day she struggles to figure out what exactly caused her death, and what she can do to fix it and save herself.


Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country.

The Martian by Andy Weir! It takes place on a whole different planet!!


Pate a Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

butterbeer

I was originally gonna say Butterbeer, and then I realized I’ve actually had Butterbeer! Here is a (blurry) photo of me drinking Butterbeer on the Night Bus at Harry Potter Studios. It was DELICIOUS.



So that was my Pastry Book Tag! I’m going to tag some of my most recent followers, so maybe we can get a chance to get to know each other better:

The Orangutan Librarian

Oleen @ Oleen Lives, Reads and Loves

Kat @ The Impossible Girl

The Bibliothèque

Thanks for reading!!

20 thoughts on “Book Tag: The Pastry Book Tag

  1. Thanks so much for tagging me! I’ve seen the tag around for a bit now and I really wanted to do it, so this is awesome! 😀

    Also, I really like your choices. The Martian was actually one of my favourites I read this summer and I’ve heard some great things about The One Thing. I’m having a hard time getting through Jane Eyre, so it’s good to know that it’ll be worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All of those pictures just made me hungry!! And such great choices. I agree with you 100% about the bling ring. I read the book out of curiosity after seeing the movie, but it didn’t bring much else. I found that the movie was really well-made, and the actors were really good 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

