Top Ten Tuesday #7: Favorite Spooky Covers

toptentuesday

By The Broke and the Bookish

Welcome to a very festive TTT! Autumn is my favorite season, and Halloween is one oy my favorite holidays, which is perfect because this week we have a Halloween-themed freebie. So I’m going to tell you all about my favorite spooky covers. Obviously there are a lot of great spooky covers I could choose from, but I decided to only do covers of books I’ve actually read (or am about to read) since it felt weirdly dishonest to include books I haven’t read. Anyway.


61R2KWP2TZL

WE HAVE ALWAYS LIVED IN THE CASTLE BY SHIRLEY JACKSON

I’m mad I didn’t get to reading this book before Halloween! It is on my Fall TBR list, and I’m super excited about it. I think this cover is beautifully creepy — the shading, the perspective, the expressions on everyone’s faces. Also there’s a black cat, and what’s more Halloween-ish than that?


9780143106159

JANE EYRE BY CHARLOTTE BRONTE

This is the copy of Jane Eyre that I own. I think it does a great job of capturing the creepiness of Thornfield Hall, and the gothic nature of the novel. I love the lettering, too — it reminds me of a rod-iron fence. I generally prefer more traditional covers on my classics, but this is a rare exception.


Mrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen

Awkwardly, I actually really hated this book. The cover was legitimately the only thing I really liked about it. I love the mirror and the mysterious half-face. You can’t tell from the photo, but the mirror frame is actually raised so it has a nice texture to it as well. Great cover for a piss-poor novel.


These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

This book comes out today! I raved about this book already, so I’ll spare you here, but this cover is so wonderfully spooky. I think the roses are really what completes it — the contrast between the dirt and creepy panels with the fragile roses. Go read this book!


Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I think this cover is SO COOL. Anatomical hearts are so much more interesting looking than typical cartoon hearts. This cover is perfect for a book that deals with man vs. machine, and I think the repetitive pattern makes it extra creepy (and weirdly hypnotizing).


6_the half-blood prince

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

How amazing is this redesign of the Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince cover? Unfortunately, it only exists conceptually, and I found it on the blog of designer M.S. Corley. This is one of the creepiest scenes in the book (and the whole series), when Dumbledore and Harry ride the boat into the cave to retrieve the Horcrux and it triggers the Inferi who reach out to grab them. So. Creepy.


1984 by George Orwell

Okay this cover creeps me out the most out of all the ones on this list. I feel like those eyes are staring RIGHT AT ME. It’s a cool representation of Big Brother, but I really hate looking at it. There’s actually a lot of really creepy versions of this cover, which makes sense since this was such a creepy and gut-wrenching book to read.


9b6f208dcb2b59324325616a18b6f77d

The Diviners by Libba Bray

Tell me again why the switched the artwork?? This cover is just perfect: it’s the right level of creepy and beautiful that perfectly matches the tone of the book. I am NOT PLEASED with the switch to the new covers. It actually made Flavorwire’s list of Bad Book Jacket Redesigns.


That’s all I have for you today, so I guess it’s really a Top Eight Tuesday! What is your favorite spooky cover? Link me to your TTTs below – I love reading them! Have a GREAT HALLOWEEN!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #7: Favorite Spooky Covers

  1. That cover of Jane Austen is THE MOST GORGEOUS! They actually sell it in my local bookshop but I already own Jane Eyre and it seems silly to buy another copy just for the cover.

    It’s a shame you haven’t gotten around to reading We Have Always Lived in the Castle yet. It’s a great Halloween read! I read it around Halloween a couple of years ago and it was perfect. But then again, I haven’t gotten around to my festive read either this year. I’ve been so slow with the books I’m actually reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

