Top Ten Tuesday #9: Book to Movie Adaptations

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Book-to-Movie Adaptations

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Happy Tuesday, fellow readers. I have to say I’m not a huge fan of Tuesdays – its kind of just a slog from Monday to Hump Day, isn’t it? So I’m glad Top Ten Tuesdays are a thing – it makes this blah day a little less terrible.

This week’s theme is book to movie adaptations. One of the great controversies at the intersection of literature and film. For this topic, I’m going to list five book-to-movie adaptations I really loved, and then five that I’m really looking forward to.


Excellent Book-to-Movie Adaptations

To Kill a Mockingbird

Few things on this planet make me happier than To Kill a Mockingbird, and I still believe that this was one of the finest book-to-movie adaptations in history. Perfectly cast, expertly written and wonderfully directed. Did I mention Gregory Peck?


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

God, have I ever made it through a Top Ten Tuesday WITHOUT referencing Harry Potter? Probably not, but it just goes to show you what a ginormous impact these books made on me. Sorcerer’s Stone is my favorite film because I think it is the most faithful to the source material, but even more so because it introduced me to the Harry Potter universe.


Persuasion

I am not a swoony lady, but damned if the Persuasion adaption with Sally Hawkins and Rupert Penry didn’t have me sighing. It’s such a lovely story and its so well-acted. The two leads have great chemistry and it really adds another dimension to the story. Plus, Rupert Penry. Sigh.


The Descendants

Both the book and the movie are so underrated, in my opinion! It’s a great family drama, and the movie really makes use of the fact that it is set in the most beautiful place ever — Kauai. Both the book and movie deal with some decidedly dark subject matter, but they’re also really funny. It also has one of the most soothing soundtracks ever. A great movie to watch on a rainy evening, if you haven’t checked it out yet!


The Martian

I really liked The Martian when I read it, but one of my problems with it was that I had a hard time visualizing some of the equipment. I have no science training (like I didn’t even take physics), it was hard for me to wrap my head around things like the hab and the rover, etc. etc. Seeing it all projected on the big screen was so cool, and the setting was so visually stunning. Also, I kind of hate 3D, but this had some of the smoothest 3D I’ve seen.


Into the Wild

God, has anyone else read this book/seen this movie? It’s totally heartbreaking but such an interesting read. This is the kind of nonfiction book I would recommend to people who don’t necessarily like nonfiction — it has a great narrative and is very readable.


Exciting Upcoming BOOK-TO-MOVIE ADAPTATIONS

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Release Date: November 18, 2016

This is either going to be excellent or terrible isn’t it? I really think the fact they cast Eddie Redmayne is a good sign — a serious actor rather than, like, a Disney-esque heartthrob. I feel like they’re taking it seriously, and I’m really excited to see what happens. But we’re gonna be waiting a longgg while for this one.


Inferno

Release Date: October 16, 2016

What’s that sound? Oh, it’s me losing all my book snob street cred. Dan Brown is my guilt pleasure, and if you can set aside any concerns with historical accuracy, they are actually pretty entertaining reads. Inferno is actually not a good book at all, but I’ll probably see it on sheer entertainment value. Also I have a crush on Tom Hanks.


Me Before You

Release Date: July 7, 2016

I haven’t read this book yet, but I will definitely get to it before the movie is released next summer. I unfortunately was already spoiled for the ending, so I know just how much my heart is going to be broken when this finally comes out. Bring it on, I guess?


Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Release Date: December 25, 2016

Wow, I love this poster so much! Minimalism done right. I actually didn’t know this was going to be a movie until I started reading other people’s TTT, but I bet it will be amazing. Tim Burton is such an expert at creating creepy movies. Oddly enough, Johnny Depp does not appear to be in it!? How will anyone know it’s a Tim Burton movie?


That’s my list for you this week! I’m sure I missed some seriously excellent book to movie adaptations so leave me angry letters in the comments. Happy almost hump day!!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #9: Book to Movie Adaptations

  1. I looove your list! I feel sorry you got spoiled for Me Before You’s ending. It’s seriously the best part and being surprised about it is just that thing that will change your outlook in life! Well hope you like it still! 😀

    Like

  2. I think To Kill a Mockingbird may be my all-time favorite movie adaptation and of course, I have lots of love for the HP films. I love that version of Persuasion, oh Captain Wentworth, how I swoon! I actually really curious about the Miss Peregrine’s movie, we will see how that goes…

    Like

  3. You are so right about Fantastic Beasts! It’s either going to be spectacular or flop. I really hope it isn’t the latter, but everyone seems to like Eddie being casted so lets hope it’s a good sign. Inferno is becoming a movie? The good thing about people doing this weekly meme is that I’m discovering about all of these book to movie adaptations!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

