Book Tag: My Life in Books

Happy Book Tag Friday! Just kidding, that’s not a thing. I’m currently off to Portland, Oregon to visit Powell’s my best friend! And Powell’s! But in the meantime, here is one of the more fun tags I’ve done recently:


Find a book for each of your initials:

the-martianEverythingjane-eyre

Easy! My initials are M-E-J, so I’ll go with the most recent books I read for each letter.

You can’t spell The Martian without Maria! Which I actually didn’t notice until I was just admiring the cover. E was easy, and J was the hardest, since it turns out I’ve only ever read three books starting with J, ever. I read Jane Eyre earlier this year, and really really liked it. I have a conflicted relationship with the initials MJ right now, because on all documents at work people are listed by their initials and I have heard 50+ Michael Jackson jokes since I started. And I have yet to perfect my moonwalk.

Is he really moonwalking, or is this GIF just in reverse? The world will never know.

Count Your Age Along Your Book Shelf: What Book Is It?

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway. Ehhh. I read this in high school, and I wasn’t able to connect with it all that well. I really wanted to like Hemingway, because he is my dad’s favorite author, but this book just didn’t make me feel anything – none of his books have. Is anyone here a big Hemingway fan? Because I am totally open to having my view on him changed.


Pick a book set in your city/state/country:

There’s a lot of quintessential California books that I just haven’t read yet. John Steinbeck, especially, is known for his great Californian literature. The only book I’ve read by him is Of Mice and Men, which is set in the Salinas Valley, about three hours south of where I live. I read this book in high school, and it such a raw, emotional read. Proof that a book doesn’t need to be really long in order to be really gripping. His other book, Grapes of Wrath, is the only book I was assigned in high school that I didn’t read! It’s on my list, but it’s just so looooong.


Pick a book that represents a destination you would like to travel to?

Why do Australia (left) and the UK (right) always have better covers?

I want to travel everywhere! If only it wasn’t so cost-prohibitive. The top of my list is Australia, except for the whole killer-insect situation. I haven’t actually read that many books set in Australia, except for the ones by Liane Moriary. She is my go to feel-good read! Her books are juicy and hilarious, but have enough substance to get you really invested in all the characters.


Pick A Book That Is Your Favorite Color:

why not me mindy kaling

I LOVE this shade of blue! I find it really soothing to look at. If I was a millionaire and had, like, a designated meditation room, I would accent it all in that color blue. Is it Robin’s Egg blue? It might be. I think it looks especially well against Mindy’s pretty white dress and her pink nails.


Which book do you have the fondest memory of?

Well I promised myself I would get through this book tag without mentioning Harry Potter (except I guess I just did), so I’ll go with THE BABY-SITTERS CLUB! This was the first series that I 100% devoured. All 131 of them, plus some of the special editions. And even the weirdly-mature Dawn spin-off series after she moves to California. And, if I’m going to be perfectly honest with you, I may or may not have binge watched the short-lived earl 90s TV show when it showed up on Netflix.


Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

casualvacancy

This book was the first one that popped into my head. There are SO. MANY. CHARACTERS. I actually had to make a note on my phone of all the characters and the relationships between then because I just couldn’t keep them all straight. But I have to say that the struggle is totally worth it. Once you get all of the people straight, this is a really fantastic book about small-town life and politics. If you’ve been put off by this one, I promise it’s worth the effort!


Which book in your TBR pile will you give you the biggest sense of achievement?

the-book-thief-markus-zusak

The Book Thief — I know, this is a weird choice because it’s not a particularly long or difficult book BUT it is the oldest book on my TBR, and one I have been avoiding reading for YEARS. Literally, YEARS. I’ve tried to get through it so many times, and I have not yet succeeded. I know it’s supposed to be great , but I swear I have developed some seriously bizarre mental block around it where I really don’t want to read it but feel like I have to. It’s very weird.


So I’m going to tag people in this one, even though I think A LOT of people have already done it. So, of course, if you’ve already completed it, don’t feel obligated to do it again!

The Orang-utan Librarian 

Anette @ Anette Reads

A Reader of Literature

Ashley @ Part-Time Book Nerd

11 thoughts on “Book Tag: My Life in Books

  1. Thanks for tagging me! Especially since this tag seems super fun.

    I’m reading Men Without Women by Hemingway at the moment. I feel you. I don’t feel anything at all. It seems a bit pointless. Hopefully things will improve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

