Top Ten Tuesday #10: Favorite Quotes of 2015

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Quotes of 2015


Happy Tuesday folks! I can’t believe that this is the tenth TTT I’ve done in almost as many weeks. This seems to be the only weakly feature that I am capable of keeping up with. This is a fun category — favorite quotes of 2015.

I’ve read some pretty amazing books with some pretty amazing writing this year, so it was hard to narrow down the list to just my top ten. I would say they fall into three general categories: romantic/swoony love quotes, meaning-of-life quotes, and feel-good empowerment. I mean, what else do you really need?


 


 

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.” – Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

“It’s really a wonder that I haven’t dropped all my ideals, because they seem so absurd and impossible to carry out. Yet I keep them, because in spite of everything, I still believe that people are really good at heart.” ― Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

“You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope…I have loved none but you.” ― Jane Austen, Persuasion

“Don’t let the bastards grind you down.”― Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale

“Courage. Kindness. Friendship. Character. These are the qualities that define us as human beings, and propel us, on occasion, to greatness.” ― R.J. Palacio, Wonder

“If you’re good at it, and you love it, and it helps you navigate the river of the world, then it can’t be wrong.” ― Sherman Alexie, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

“I was thinking how amazing it was that the world contained so many lives. Out in these streets people were embroiled in a thousand different matters, money problems, love problems, school problems. People were falling in love, getting married, going to drug rehab, learning how to ice-skate, getting bifocals, studying for exams, trying on clothes, getting their hair-cut and getting born. And in some houses people were getting old and sick and were dying, leaving others to grieve. It was happening all the time, unnoticed, and it was the thing that really mattered.” ― Jeffrey Eugenides, Middlesex

“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”― Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything

“Because what else are we going to do? Say no? Say no to an opportunity that may be slightly out of our comfort zone? Quiet our voice because we are worried it is not perfect? I believe great people do things before they are ready.”  ― Amy Poehler, Yes Please

Suddenly he remembers Sixo trying to describe what he felt about the Thirty-Mile Woman. “She is a friend of my mind. She gather me, man. The pieces I am, she gather them and give them back to me in all the right order. It’s good, you know, when you got a woman who is a friend of your mind.” – Beloved, Toni Morrison


 

Those are my favorite quotes of 2015 (so far)!  I think I’m going to get them all combined into one impressive lower-back tattoo. Link me to your TTT!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #10: Favorite Quotes of 2015

    • I really enjoyed it! It’s definitely very different from his other book that I read, The Virgin Suicides, but I really enjoyed them both. Definitely worth checking him out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

