Book Tag: Seasons of Book Blogging

four_seasons

Hello! In lieu of a Top Ten Tuesday topic this week, I’m mixing it up with a book tag. Today we’re doing The Seasons of Book Blogging Tag! I was tagged by the original creator of the tag, Jordyn @ J.Bookish, as well as Samantha @ Reed Reads & Review. Both of their blogs are great, so make sure you check them out if you haven’t already. But first! Let’s discuss the seasons of book blogging.


November is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer

I’m thankful for all books that I’ve ever read! Even the bad ones. But right now, I am feeling particularly grateful for The Lunar Chronicles! Pretty much everyone in the blogging world has recommended these books to me, honestly, and I put them off because it didn’t sounds like something I would like. I was never much of a fairy-tale girl as a child (much more about the talking animals than the handsome prince), and the cyborg thing seemed a little weird for me.

But I finally borrowed Cinder last week, and I LOVED it! I just started Scarlet, and I’m so grateful to have finally discovered this series. It’s so action-packed and I love all the characters. Marissa Meyer is a really great writer, and I can’t wait to find out what happens next!


December is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

The Pape240130r Bag Princess by Robert Munsch is a book I plan on giving to every friend I have when they have a kid! It’s a great twist on the traditional fairytale trope. A princess is slated  to marry a prince, but after a series of unfortunate events involving a dragon, has to go and rescue the aforementioned prince while wearing a paper bag. But after she saves the prince, he gets angry because her appearance isn’t ladylike enough. So she (spoiler) tells him to get lost and decides to go do her own thing. It’s never to early to start telling little girls (and boys) that women are capable of a lot more than being damsels in distress!


January begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

This is the first year I have EVER kept a New Year’s Resolution!! My resolution for 2015 was to read more books, which I definitely did this year. This was my first year being entirely done with school and having a daily commute. It has done wonders for my reading list!


February is the month for relationships. Name your favorite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

giphy

There are a lot of great choices for this one! I like that you left this open-ended, and not just favorite book ships and couples.

I think my favorite literary relationships of all time is Atticus and Scout in To Kill a Mockingbird. They have such a great father-daughter relationship. I love that Atticus is such a dedicated and committed father, but still gives Scout space to be herself and make her own mistakes. It’s an especially touching relationship when you find it is based on Harper Lee’s own relationship with her father.


March is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

hunger_games_trilogy

This is an interesting question, and there are so many books I could pick for it! But I do distinctly remember texting me friend after we both finished The Hunger Games trilogy and saying that I wish I could experience it again for the first time. So much of these books is about the action and the surprises around ever turn. You can only be shocked by it once!


April is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

the_maze_runner_coverI actually have a whole shelf devoted to books I found over-hyped. One book that comes immediately to mind is The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

The concept of this book sounded interesting in a Lord of the Flies way, but I thought the execution was pretty weak. I just wasn’t invested in the characters and it just seemed like another weak dystopian YA. I actually heard the other books in the series were better, but I never felt motivated to read them after I finished this first one.


May is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Nwonderame a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.

Another question I have a whole shelf devoted to (my Goodreads shelves are the only organizing thing in my life, btw). But one that really jumps out to me is Wonder by RJ Palacio. I thought this book seemed a little hokey/Lifetime tearjerker, honestly. But I loved it! It’s a beautiful and inspiring story, and such a good reminder to just be a little kinder than necessary.


June is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

Oh, I love a good beach read. When I want to take a break, I love to read anything light, fluffy and maybe just a little trashy. Some of my most recent favorite beach reads are The Heiresses, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, What Alice Forgot, and I Take You.


July is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book handmaidthat made you see fireworks. (Figuratively. Please don’t light books on fire.)

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood knocked my socks off (do people still say that?) in a way that I totally did not anticipate. I knew it was 1980s feminist speculative fiction, but I had no idea how extremely relevant it would still be. The concepts of sexual freedom, gender roles and independence are the same topics that still get debated every day. This should be required reading for all women (and all people).


August is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

EmilyStJohnMandel05112015

This was the hardest question for me! I guess I don’t follow buzzed about authors — I usually only find out about them when everyone else starts talking about them. But one author I think has a lot of potential is Emily St. John Mandel, who wrote Station Eleven, one of my favorite books of 2014. Station Eleven is totally genre-bending, and a great step towards adult dystopia for people who read mostly YA. Her books are so engaging and her world-building is great. I can’t wait to see what she does next!


September is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

I read a lot of good books in school! I was lucky enough to have teachers who made an effort to get us really engaged with the literature, and make it relatable to a bunch of teenagers. A few of my favorites are The Great Gatsby, Othello (my favorite Shakespeare) and Maus, the first graphic novel/memoir I ever read, and still one of the best.


October is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

giphy1

UGH I was really trying to get through this tag without bringing up Harry Potter! Why does HP just relate to every book tag?? Well I think a really cool Halloween costume would be Bellatrix Lestrange, in all her crazy, vampy glory.


Now on to the tagging! Jordyn tagged A LOT of people in this, so I will probably be double tagging quite a few of you.

Hellphie @ Hellphie’s Fiendish Fiction

Sumaya @ Sue’s Reading Corner

Emma @ Wandering Woods

Jessica @ Mud and Stars

Dee @ The Bookish Khaleesi

And, of course, anyone else who is interested. Enjoy!!

16 thoughts on “Book Tag: Seasons of Book Blogging

  1. “I’m thankful for all books that I’ve ever read! Even the bad ones” — I am too, but I often forget it. Thanks for the reminder than having even one book in your bookshelf is a blessing.

    The Lunar Chronicles is in my local bookstore, I checked. It’s more expensive than I anticipated though (import fees), so I’m having second thoughts. But ugh, everyone says it is so good and I believe them… I’ll think about it more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ack I’m sorry the import fees are bringing you down 😦 I can imagine how those would add up. Maybe a library? Or, depending on how you feel about e-readers, a digital version?

      Like

      • Yea, I’m dithering whether I should download a digital version (easier on my wallet) or buy a physical copy next week when my paycheck comes (I do so love physical books!). But one way or another, I’ll get Cinder eventually 🙂

        Like

  2. Oh my gosh at my last tutoring session I read The Paper Bag Princess to my student!! She randomly picked it out and I’d never heard of it but it’s awesome. And the Handmaid’s Tale is amazing. I really need to read more Margaret Atwood. I keep trying to find an older version of The Blond Assassin because I hate the new cover but I’ve failed so far. Aaand oops on the tagging. I wanted to include everyone who participated in tag week! 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic choices, Maria! 🙂 This was a great tag to post in replacement of T10T. Actually, I’m probably the black sheep with this opinion but I didn’t care for Cinder that much. I borrowed it from the library years ago when it first came out but it’s certainly become pretty popular. And Wonder! I’m really looking forward to that one.

    Oh and I noticed that you had a lot of tags. I used to be a big WP Community Pool contributor so I helped other bloggers with layout and how to use WP. I just wanted to let you know there’s a 15 relevant tag rule on WP. WP only categorizes 15 tags so you don’t have to tag over 15 tags unless you want to! In other words, after the fifteenth tag WP stops tagging. Just a suggestion/reminder so you can save time. 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks for the tag! I loved your answers. The Paper Bag Princess sounds amazing, if I have girls one day, I’m definitely going to read this to them! I have also put off reading The Lunar Chronicles, I think partly because I’m scared they won’t live up to the crazy hype around them, plus the cyborg thing doesn’t appeal to me either, but I am really tempted to give them a go, as I’ve heard so many good things about them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

