Top Ten Tuesday #11: 10 Books on my Winter TBR

tumblr_mq0ofjlsmx1r8mnamo1_500

It’s officially December, which means, as far as I’m concerned, it’s officially winter! I’m going rogue this week with my Top Ten Tuesday, because I really enjoyed making my Fall TBR, and I think it helped me organize my reading for the last few months. I actually read eight out of ten books on my Fall TBR, and I decided I wanted to take today to make a winter list as well! Read on for the books on top of my list for winter.


13206828

Cress by Marissa Meyer

I was a late arrival to The Lunar Chronicles series, and now I can’t believe I ever waiting this long! I thought there was no way these books could live up to the hype, but they really did. I just finished Scarlet today, and I want to take a little bit of a break before I jump into the second half of the series.


9781925240702

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

This is one of the books I’m most looking forward to in the incoming months. Ta-Nehisi Coates won the National Book Award for nonfiction last month for this book, which is an exploration of being black in America today. I can’t think of a book more relevant and important to read right now.


 

81ijfr60r1l

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

THIS BOOK IS 834 PAGES. This is one of the books I picked up at Powell’s earlier this month (post about that coming soon), and then I regretted it after lugging it around for the rest of the weekend. It’s a murder mystery set during the New Zealand gold rush, which I didn’t even know was a thing that happened. It also won the Man Booker Prize in 2013. I’m putting it on my list as a kind of challenge to myself so that I really force myself to at least attempt this mammoth novel.


Books Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

Winter is the perfect time to curl up with a creepy-covered mystery! And this is one of those books that I’ve heard universally amazing things about. It’s the highest-rated book on my TBR (Cress is #2) and I am so excited to read it. I love historical fiction, and I love mysteries, so there’s so much to look forward to with this one.


 

51b5m1zoq1l-_sx325_bo1204203200_

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

To be honest, I’ve never really gotten along with Charles Dickens. I read Great Expectations and A Tale of Two Cities in high school, and I didn’t particularly enjoy either of them, honestly. But I want to give him another try, and A Christmas Carol seems like a most seasonally appropriate way to do it. I was actually gonna read this last year, but I ran out of time and settled for watching the version with Scrooge McDuck and Mickey Mouse instead. Same thing right?


the-book-thief-markus-zusak

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This is left over from my Fall TBR, and is still haunting me from my TBR shelf. I actually own two copies of it, and I still haven’t read it. But this is the season that I actually read it! Maybe!


throne_of_glass_uk

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I know, I know, I can’t believe I haven’t read this one either! I was avoiding it for the same reason I didn’t read The Lunar Chronicles for a long time, because I was worried they would wouldn’t live up to the substantial hype. But The Lunar Chronicles have been such a fun ride, and I’m hoping the Throne of Glass series will be too!


18798983

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

UGH what a GORGEOUS COVER. As in, distractingly beautiful every time I see it in a bookstore. I attempted to read another 1001 Arabian Nights-inspired novel this year (A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston), and DNFed it, but I have heard amazing things about this one! Very excited to check it out.


 

41g7mljhcvl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

It Ended Badly: 13 of the Worst Breakups in History by Jennifer Wright

Now for something completely different — a nonfiction book about historically disastrous relationships. I just got approved for this one on NetGalley. I’m a sucker for a good love (and breakup) story, and I figured it would be an educational and entertaining read this winter.


sense-and-sensiblity

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Slowly making my way through the Jane Austen canon! I found a beautiful version of this book for seven dollars at Powell’s, and I just couldn’t resist. This is her first novel, I think, and I honestly don’t know anything about it. Any thoughts??


 

So those are the top ten books on my Winter TBR! What books are you most excited to read this season?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #11: 10 Books on my Winter TBR

Leave a Reply

