Non-Bookish Reflections on 2015

And now for something completely different! I was just thinking that I really want to get to know you, book bloggers, outside of your book choices.

Obviously, I love hearing about what everyone is reading, but I thought it might be nice to get to know each other outside of the literary world as well. So I figured I might present some of my favorite things and moments of 2015. I’d love to hear yours too!

 Favorite Movies of 2015

Last year, my boyfriend and I really outdid ourselves and saw like FIFTY movies. That was not the case this year. We only saw about twenty. Movies are expensive! So if a movie that was super awesome isn’t on this list, it’s probably because I haven’t seen it (yet).

Selma: First movie I saw this year and also my favorite. It’s a beautiful story that’s extremely well-told. It still feels so relevant today, and should be required watching for every person.

Trainwreck: Could not be more different from the first movie on the list, but it’s my second favorite of 2015. Amy Schumer is like the queen of 2015, and she wrote and starred in this film. The humor is sharp, the characters are relatable and I loved how it played on all the typical rom-com tropes.

Inside Out: I’m still not over Bing Bong.

Ex Machina: THIS MOVIE! Very few other people I know have seen it and I don’t want to give anything away. But I will say if you love sci-fi books, you will love this movie. Just watch the trailer.

The Martian: This movie was almost as good as the book! Visually stunning and well-written. What else do you need in a nerdy action movie?


 

Favorite Albums of 2015

I invested in a Spotify Premium account this year! My commute is two hours long, and music is definitely a lifesaver when trudging through 7am San Francisco fog. My favorite albums of the year:

Drake, If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late: Did I just lose all my street cred? Did I have ant to begin with? Drake is my go-to music at work. Especially his angry songs when I’m mad at work (often). According to Spotify, this is my most-played album of the year.

Vance Joy, Dream Your Life Away: I actually got to see Vance Joy when he opened for Taylor Swift this summer, and he’s great! This album is a whole lot more than just ‘Riptide’ (even though I love Riptide).

Alessia Cara, Know It All: Isn’t it weird that ‘Here’ became a party anthem at the end of the year? Or it was at every party I went too (which was like two but whatever). Here is a great song but I recommend checking out the whole album – it has a great variety and her voice is really something special. She’s definitely one to watch in 2016.

Bleachers, Strange Desire: So this technically came out last year, but I resdiscovered it this year when Jack Antonoff released Terrible Thrills, the companion album, in which each song from Strange Desire is sung by a different, talented female artist. It’s a really interesting concept and it’s cool to compare the companion and the original.

Kendrick Lamar, To Pimp a Butterfly: Does this one earn me back some street cred? Is street cred redeemable for cash prizes? Kendrick Lamar is gonna own it at the Grammy’s next year. This album is politically- and racially-charged and I love how he included soul and funk sounds into it, too.


 

Favorite Moments of 2015

Going to New Orleans was probably my favorite experience of 2015. I got to see some of my very best friends who I hadn’t seen since we met in London in 2013. It was so wonderful reconnecting with them and exploring such a fun city that it made my hungover, dehydrated 6AM Sunday plane ride 100% worth it. My friend Kayla also wrote a much more in-depth post on NOLA for anyone considering going (YOU SHOULD GO).

I also got a full-time job. And a promotion! It is my first job out of college, which feels like a major milestone as well as a very scary adult-life moment. My commute is two hours long, which isn’t ideal, but getting my first ever grown up paycheck was one of the more exciting moments of my life so far.

IMG_6132.jpg

I went to four different states! Or five, if you count a layover in the Denver Airport (A+ wifi, if you’re wondering). I took a wonderful trip to Louisiana, as mentioned above. I also visited family in New York and New Jersey, and visited my friend in Portland! AND POWELL’S.

I also went to Taylor Swift’s 1989 concert, which made me feel kind of old but what still a really fun experience. Say what you will about T-Swift, but she puts on one hell of a concert.

And I went wine tasting for the first time! I live so close to wine country, but I had never actually gone before. It was A TON of fun and a great excuse to buy a new fancy dress.

Continued to date the best guy ever. Ew, sorry, I’m gross.  But I couldn’t talk about this year without talking about my boyfriend who has been a constant throughout the many ups and downs of this year and who puts up with my detailed summarizing of every book I read. I even got him to read two books this year! (The Great Gatsby and The Martian).


 

The End

So that was a summary of the best parts of my year. I suppose I could go into some of the less-wonderful aspects of my 2015, because there were a lot of them. But I think I would rather end this post, and this year, on a high note. I wish all of you a fun and safe New Year’s Eve, and cheers to 2016!

13 thoughts on “Non-Bookish Reflections on 2015

  1. I love this post so much! Such a neat idea 🙂 I loved The Martian as well (I admit I have not read the book yet though I rushed out to buy it as soon as i’d seen the movie) Would you mind if I did a post like this as well and referenced yours?

    Like

  2. Such a lovely post! I wish my life was exciting so I could share one haha. I’m not a huge movie person, I don’t have to money to see a lot but INSIDE OUT IS BAE. Bing Bong though 💔 I have not listened to any of the albums you mentioned because all I listen to at the moment is Latin music #latincountryproblems I feel so out of the loop, you definitely have more street cred than me

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a really neat idea for a post, and I rather enjoyed reading it. 🙂 I haven’t been able to see Ex Machina yet, but I’m planning to rent it as soon as I get the chance. And I really want to see The Martian, but I want to read the book first if I can manage to get my hands on it in a decent amount of time. I’m glad you liked them! I finally got the chance to see Inside Out last month and yeah, I’m not over Bing Bong either. *sobs*

    I mainly just listened to Daft Punk, Fall Out Boy, Imagine Dragons, Lana Del Rey, and Coldplay this year. I’m not sure what that says about me. 😛

    Like

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post! You should definitely read The Martian before you see the movie, they’re both good in different ways. And I love Lana Del Rey! Her first album is still my favorite.

      Like

Leave a Reply

