My 2016 Book Bucket List

I’ve been doing some thinking. After my difficult experience with reading challenges in 2015, I think I’m going to take a more relaxed approach to setting reading goals in 2016. The only official “challenge” I’m going to participate in is the Goodreads Challenge, because it’s so convenient and open-ended.

I also made a Book Bucket List, a list of all the books that I hope to read sometime. Definitely won’t be able to tackle all of them this year, but I thought these would be a good selection of books to kick me into gear in 2016!

Challenges:

Goodreads Challenge: Read 50 books

Books I Want to Read in 2016:

Classics

65e90-prideandprejudice

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: I’ve wanted to read this book forever, and it’s been sitting on my shelf since, like, 2006. I actually really enjoyed my experience with Jane Austen in Persuasion, and this will be the year I finally make it through P&P!!

MTE1ODA0OTcxNzgzMzkwNzMz

Shakespeare: I read (and was not very impressed) with King Lear this summer, but I am still dutifully making my way through Shakespeare’s work.  Haven’t decided which play I want to tackle this year, so if you have any recommendations please let me know!


 

Young Adult

wrathandthedawn

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: I’ve heard amazing things about this book from the blogging community, and I am so excited to finally check it out! I just bought a copy (literally, like 25 minutes before I wrote this post) and it’s on the top of my TBR for 2016.

Six-of-Crows.jpg

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: Another book that the book blogging community loves! I’ve heard really wonderful things about this one.

91cMHG1mVaL.jpg

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart: Kind of an outlier choice, but this is one of those books I’ve been meaning to read since it came out. I’ve put it off because I was waiting for the ‘perfect summery beach read moment’, but that hasn’t happened in the last two years. This is the year I finally read it!

throne_of_glass_uk

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: Throne of Glass seems to be a love it or hate it series (mostly love, from what I can tell), and I will need a new fantasy series after I wrap up my much beloved The Lunar Chronicles in the next few days. This seems like a good next step!

635616865883334429-winter-3-10-15

Winter by Marissa Meyer: So this is a little bit cheating because I am about 60% finished with it already, but it’s so long (823!) that I felt I deserved to cross something off when I finish it. I will be very sad when this series is over; it has made the last half of 2015 so enjoyable for me.

the-book-thief-markus-zusak

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: The Book Thief is my personal Everest. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that this has been on my seasonal TBR lists every season and…I still haven’t read it. I know this is supposed to be such an amazing book, but honestly I just want to get it over with at this point.


 

Adult Fiction

miniaturistjessieburton

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton: My TBTB Secret Santa was lovely enough to gift me this book! It’s set in Amsterdam, one of my favorite cities ever, and I am really looking forward to reading it!

luminaries

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton: I bought this massive tome of a book at Powell’s in November, and I really want to get to it this year! The size of it is definitely daunting, but the premise and time period (a murder during the New Zealand gold rush) sound so unique and fascinating.

81TRTuHJSnL.jpg

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr: This is one of those rare books I have never heard a single negative comment about. It seems universally beloved.

nightingale

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah: Another book that comes highly recommended from just about everyone I know.


 

Nonfiction

9780812993547.jpg

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates: This book will be a challenging but important read.

life-changing-magic

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo: I definitely have some hoarder tendencies, especially when it comes to books. Some of Kondo’s precepts seem a little out-there, but I have also heard people claim that this book really did change their lives! I am cautiously optimistic.


 

Any books not on my list that I absolutely HAVE to read next this year? Let me know! Cheers to the New Year!

giphy2

35 thoughts on “My 2016 Book Bucket List

  1. I too would like to read more Shakespeare this year. I’ve read only Romeo and Juliet (meh) and I also read Hamlet (which I quite enjoyed). Hamlet has a lot of manipulating in it so if you haven’t read it, Hamlet is a pretty enjoyable read:).

    Like

  2. There are some great picks on your bucket list for this year–fingers crossed you get to most of them! Also, YAY Pride and Prejudice! I am seriously obsessed with that book…which is why I own something like 30 different versions/retellings/etc. XD

    Like

  3. Hamlet is good for Shakespeare. If you want more of a bloodbath then maybe Titus Andronicus but not many people like Titus. But I do. Oh, and Macbeth is very good too. Or, if you’d like to try a ‘comedy’, I’d go with Taming of the Shrew, Twelfth Night, or A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Sorry for rambling on. I just love Shakespeare. Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

    • No, thank you!! That is just the kind of guidance I need! I’ve read Macbeth and Twelfth Night before and I really enjoyed both of them. I will definitely check out Hamlet and Titus Andronicus! Thanks for the help!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. HAPPY NEW YEAR! ❤

    I'm so excited that you're picking up The Wrath and The Dawn–it's one of my top reads of last year and I just absolutely love it. I've also read Throne of Glass but gave it one star out of five, though, so. 😛

    The Book Thief is also my personal Everest, so I'm glad you've mentioned it. I've tried reading it ON AND OFF throughout the last four months and for some reason other books just keep getting prioritised. Here's hoping we can both finally complete it!

    Like

    • Happy New Year to you too!!! 😀

      Interested to hear your thoughts on Throne of Glass! I know some people are just obsessed with it, but I don’t think you’re alone in not enjoying it. I know basically nothing about it all, so I’m interested to see how I feel!

      GUH so glad I’m not alone with The Book Thief. I just want to read it so I don’t have to think about reading it anymore! Maybe we should form a support group.

      Like

  5. Whaaat? You haven’t read Pride and Prejudice? Shame on you! (lol, I’m kidding of course)

    Pride and Prejudice is fun, funny, and I found it more accessible than Persuasion. So you’ll have a great time reading P&P, I think.

    Oh gosh, The Book Thief. I make no promises to read it this year.

    Like

  6. I just need to read loads of Classics this year because I am seriously behind on those. I like adult fiction as well so I need to dabble in some that as well. To be honest I really want to read the Luminaries because the cover is really pretty! And how dare you not have read Six Of Crows? Go and lock yourself in a basement and start reading that brilliant book straight away 🙂

    Like

  7. Your posts frustrate me because I have so many things to say that by the time I try to comment I can’t remember all of them. Basically: I have a lot of the same books on my TBR; Pride and Prejudice is amazing; you can’t go wrong with A Midsummer Night’s Dream; you changed your look! I thought i was on the wrong page; I totally didn’t intentionally use the same graphic but now I feel like I should change mine because you used it first (fireworks!!!); and I also have 50 as my Goodreads number! I don’t understand how some bloggers read like 200, how do they find the time?!

    Like

    • Omg now it’s ME who has so much to say!
      TBR twins!! You should make a post about your 2016 TBR or a seasonal TBR because yours posts always give me the best reading goals. I will definitely check out A Midsummer Night’s Dream; I’ve pretty much only read his tragedies, so I want to get a sense of a different side of his writing.
      50 seems like a solid choice! It’s about one book a week – I am in such awe of bloggers who can read 200+ books! I cannot even imagine how they do it.
      Don’t change your GIF! It’s so purdy and I just want to see it everywhere!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha aww they give me reading goals too.. which I NEVER accomplish 😉 but I will! I’ve been in quite the reading slump lately I need to get back into it. I’ve only ever read Shakespeare for school with a teacher to explain it to me so props to you for even attempting haha. That was my thinking too! I was like a book every seven days sounds doable. Hopefully. And ok I won’t. Thank you for your approval 🙂

        Like

  8. I hope you enjoy Pride and Prejudice! I’ve read it a few times, and it’s really good (although I think Persuasion will always be my favorite.) I haven’t read any of the adult and non-fiction books you listed, but I’m especially interested in reading All the Light We Cannot See. I personally really enjoyed Throne of Glass, although I haven’t finished reading the series, so I can’t vouch for the rest of it. And oh my goodness, Winter was /so/ good. I’ve heard a lot about The Wrath and the Dawn, Six of Crows, and We Were Liars, so I’ve been wanting to tackle those. And I’ve been wanting to reread The Book Theif. Honestly, it’s one of those ones where you hate it or you love it, and it’s perfectly understandable either way. I love it, but partially because I have to grudgingly acknowledge as one of three books that have ever made me cry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading!! Winter was so wonderful and the perfect ending to the series. I am looking forward to the story collection out next month 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed The Book Thief! I rarely cry in books, too, so I’m interested to see if I have the same sort of emotional connection that you did. If you don’t mind me asking, what are the other two books that have made you cry?

      Like

Leave a Reply

